Do you qualify for NHS Treatment?

UK residents qualify for a NHS-funded eye test if one or more of the following apply:


  • If you are aged 0-15
  • If you are aged 16, 17 or 18 and in full-time education
  • If you are aged 60 or over

Medical Condition

  • Registered as partially sighted or blind
  • Diagnosed with diabetes or glaucoma
  • Advised by an ophthalmologist (eye doctor) that you’re at risk of glaucoma
  • Aged 40 or over and your mother, father, brother, sister, son or daughter has been diagnosed with glaucoma


  • Receive Income Support*
  • Receive Universal Credit*
  • Receive Income-based (not Contribution-based) Jobseeker’s Allowance*
  • Receive Income-based Employment (not Contribution-based) and Support Allowance*
  • Receive Pension Credit Guarantee Credit*
  • Entitled to, or named on, a valid NHS tax credit exemption certificate*
  • On a low income and named on a valid HC2 (full help) certificate*
  • If you or your partner are named on a valid HC3 certificate, you might be able to get partial help towards the cost of your eye test. Ask in store.

* You or your partner

Who DOES NOT qualify for an NHS-Funded eye test?

Unfortunately, you are not entitled to an NHS-funded eye test if you only receive the following:

  • Child Benefit
  • Disability Living Allowance
  • Incapacity Benefit
  • Housing Benefit
  • Maternity Benefit
  • Contribution-based Jobseeker’s Allowance
  • Contribution-based Employment and Support Allowance
  • Tax Credit without an NHS Tax Credit Exemption Certificate
  • Recipients of Pension Credit Savings Credit on its own